Giant supermarket at IMM

Yes, this supermarket chain is called Giant. Well, its’ relatively huge.

I was amazed at the fish market section, and the fact that they have live eels and catfish! Yes, live crabs and prawns I’ve seen aplenty… but the selection here…

I will never forget how Mum once asked her friend to get some live prawns from Giant, for our Chinese New Year’s Day steamboat. As no one would be home except me, I was tasked to give the prawn a wash and transfer them from the plastic bags to containers and place them in the freezer.

What followed was a combination of creativity and agility, as I scurried around the kitchen searching for long-handled utensils and deal with prawns that threatened to hop all over the kitchen floor. It’s funny to think about, but not funny when it happened. And me? Who is scared of a few flapping prawns, am going diving? I must be crazy.

September 3, 2008. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

