DIY reef hook

Getting ready for my upcoming dive trip to Maldives. Being the nervous being I am, I have my worries about the trip.

Will I get used to living on-board 24/7 for 9 days? Will I have enough stamina to keep up with the seasoned divers? In case of emergencies, do I have the necessary survival instincts to handle it (ok, think the answer to this is a no, but my plan is to keep close to someone who does…)

Equipment is another thing. I’ve gotten a new regulator, a new BCD, Mantis fins (so pretty!), poker, a little bell (don’t ask me… I could have just used the poker as a tank banger but I couldnt’ resist).

Gull Mantis fins. Love them!

Pink Gull Mantis fins. Love them!

Sad to say I love my fins because they’re pink. I have yet to try them in the water so have no idea how they would fare. *fingers crossed*

Yeah, the problem I know have is that I’ve got pink fins, have changed the plate on my regulator to pink, and I’ve got a freaking blue wetsuit! Yeah, if they had pink I would have bought pink, but they didn’t, and the wetsuit was the first big-ticket item I bought (I had gloves and booties). Everything else came later, and how… how could I resist the pink??

And of course I’ve got my gloves and booties from the last couple of dives.

What I need is a dive computer, which I’m going to borrow this time, and a reef hook.

Cheapo as this may sound, I am perfectly willing to spend $2k+ on a BCD and a reg, but refuse to spend S$60 on a reef hook in a dive shop!

So the next best thing? DIY.

I went to the local tackle shop and got a hook for fishing sharks. Size 14/0.

I wen to the local tackle shop and got a hook for fishing sharks. Size 14/0.

The uncle at the shop was really very helpful!

Me: “Do you sell caribiniers?”

Him: “What’s that?”

But subsequently went and found me a suitable hook for hooking onto the BCD.

He helped me to assemble the parts, choosing the best rope to use (softer ones so it doesn’t cut you) and also tied the ends with a boyscout knot that “…will never come loose! The harder you pull, the tighter it becomes!”

Feeling really happy about my purchase, which cost me a grand total of S$9, Kel brought me to our next stop.

Next, down to the local bike shop to grind down the sharp edges.

Next, down to the local bike shop to grind down the sharp edges.

The final product

The final product

I’m really pleased at how it turned out! Thanks to Kel, who, although not really having a clue, knew exactly the right places to bring me to.

March 16, 2009. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

